To protect the health and safety of our families and car seat technicians and comply with social distancing guidelines, in-person car seat appointments and classes are suspended until at least July. If you are in need of an inspection or child safety seat, please call (607) 778-2807 and we will attempt to help you virtually. Thank you for your patience and understanding during this difficult time.
Did you know that car crashes are the leading cause of death for children between the ages of 1 and 13? Correctly used child safety seat can reduce the risk of death by as much as 71% and yet only 17% of car seats in Broome County are being used correctly. Our Child Passenger Safety Program is designed to help educate parents and caregivers about how to safely transport their children and reduce the chance of misuse.
Child Passenger Safety Awareness Programs:
Education is key!
- We provide presentations for parents and caregivers on best practice guidelines, New York State laws and current child passenger safety recommendations.
- We also provide child passenger safety awareness trainings for community agencies who provide services to families and caregivers and/or transport children.
- Interested in becoming a Nationally Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician? We offer at least two trainings per year in our region for those interested in becoming a trained technician.
Upcoming National Child Passenger Safety Technician Certification Course:
June 2-5, 2020, 8:30AM-5PM each day
Floyd L. Maines Veterans Memorial Arena, 1 Stuart Street, Binghamton
Course fee: $95
Course ID # NY20200203151
This course is intended to provide students with a basic level of understanding in the challenging field of child passenger safety. Upon successful completion of the course, new technicians will receive a two-year national certification through Safe Kids Worldwide.
To register for the course, visit https://cert.safekids.org/
Child Passenger Safety Education and Distribution Program:
Parents and caregivers may be eligible to receive a free child safety seat through our Education and Distribution Program.
- Must be receiving public assistance through either WIC, DSS and/or Medicaid.
- Must attend a 1 hour Child Passenger Safety Class. Classes are held twice a month at the Broome County Health Department. You must bring proof of services (WIC or Medicaid ID card)
- Must participate in the Hands-On Training. This is a separate appointment where you will receive your free seat and demonstrate proper installation and harnessing. You must bring your vehicle and child receiving the seat. The Hands-On Trainings are held at three different locations: Broome County Sheriff's Office, Union Volunteer Emergency Squad and Endicott Fire Department.
Please note we cannot always accommodate "last minute" or "emergency situations," so be sure to give us ample time to schedule your appointments.
To sign up for this program: please call (607)778-2807 and we will register you for the next class and schedule you for a hands-on training.
Need help with a car seat installation or want to make sure your child is safely in the car seat? Make an appointment at any of our local fitting station. Certified technicians can help you determine if you have the right car seat based on your child's age, weight and height, that it is properly installed in the vehicle using either the LATCH or seat belt system and that the child is properly harnessed.
By appointment only!
3701 Vestal Parkway East, Suite 9, Vestal
Binghamton Police Department
38 Hawley Street, Binghamton
Broome County Health Department
Located at the Broome County Sheriff's Office in the upper garage
155 Lt. Van Winkle Drive, Binghamton
Endicott Fire Department
224 Madison Avenue, Endicott
Union Volunteer Emergency Squad
8 South Avenue B, Endwell
(607) 754-3414 ext. 223 or visit http://www.unionems.com/
Vestal Police Department
605 Vestal Parkway West, Vestal
(607) 754-2386 ext 481
New York State Police
Child Safety Seat Check Events:
During a child safety seat check event, Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians are available to help families and caregivers with their child passenger safety needs, similar to our Fitting Stations. However, no appointment is necessary. Participants are assisted on a first come, first served basis.
When attending an event, be sure to bring:
- Your child
- You child safety seat
- Your vehicle
- Child safety seat and vehicle owners manuals, if available
No event are scheduled at this time. Please check back soon!
New York State Law:
All children must use an appropriate child restraint until their 8th birthday. A seat belt is not an appropriate child restraint.
NEW: All children must ride in a rear-facing seat until at least age 2 .
Did you know?
- Car seats expire? Generally car seats are good for at least 6 years from the date they were manufactured. Always check the stickers and in the manual for the expiration date.
- Always read the manual for the car seat AND the manual for the vehicle before attempting to install your seat. Follow the manufacturer's instructions. If you are unsure about your installation, contact a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician.
- Do not modify your seat. Modifications can compromise the safety of the seat and it may not perform well in a crash.
- Once your seat is installed by either the seat belt system or the LATCH system, it should be tight enough so it does not move more than 1" from side-to-side or from front-to-back.