Time growing short to register for FEMA aid

People affected by Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee have only 1 more day left to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for possible federal disaster assistance.

Thursday, December 15, 2011 is the registration deadline. Those who may qualify for aid should register as soon as possible. “Registration keeps open the possibility of a wide range of assistance in the future,” said County Executive Patrick Brennan. “If your insurance coverage comes up short, or other damage appears later, you will wish you to be registered in case you have to seek assistance in the future. If you were affected in any way by one of these natural disasters, I urge you to register with FEMA. That registration number may be useful to you in the future. Every family should register before the registration deadline,” Brennan said.
December 15 is also the deadline to complete and return an SBA low-interest disaster loan application.  No one is obligated to take a loan, but completing the application is an essential step in possibly receiving additional FEMA grants for homeowners and renters that do not qualify for a loan.
To register, call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362.  Phone lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, seven days a week until further notice. People with hearing disabilities can use the TTY number, 800-462-7585. Applicants can also register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or with any web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at m.fema.gov. Follow the link to “apply online for federal assistance.”
The registration period and the deadline apply to the major federal disaster declarations signed by President Barack Obama for both Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee that enabled residents and business owners in Albany, Bronx, Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Fulton,  Greene, Herkimer, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, Oneida,  Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Tioga, Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester counties to register for federal recovery aid.


12/14/2011 - 3:31pm